Steven J. Gross
Steven J. Gross
Senior Member


View Steven J. Gross’ CV

Representative Experience

Mr. Gross is a Senior Member at The Cavanagh Law Firm where his practice is devoted to insurance coverage, personal injury, and bad faith litigation. His representation of the insurance industry spans both first-party property and third-party liability claims arising out of all types of insurance coverage. Mr. Gross has particular expertise with respect to coverage issues related to the interstate motor carrier transportation industry.

Mr. Gross serves as national and regional coverage counsel for large motor carrier transportation insurance carriers and has advised clients on coverage and bad faith litigation and has appeared in courts in Arizona, Kansas, Oklahoma, New Jersey, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada, Alaska, Georgia, Louisiana, Virginia, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, Virginia, South Dakota, South Carolina, North Carolina, Utah, and California.

Currently, Mr. Gross is Chair of the Arizona State Bar Motor Carrier Transportation continuing legal education program and is one of the two managing authors and editors of the Arizona Tort Law Handbook published by the Arizona State Bar. He has published over twenty articles and books relating to insurance coverage, liability defense, and claims practices including chapter eight of the national Claims Adjuster’s Automobile Liability handbook published by West in 2009, and chapter nine of the two volume book titled Handling Insurance Cases published by West in 2011. He has been listed by Southwest Super Lawyers since inception, Best Lawyers in America 2019 – 2022 and maintains an AV Preeminent rating with Martindale-Hubbell.

Mr. Gross is a member of the CPCU Society, the Trucking Insurance Defense Association (TIDA), and the Arizona Association of Special Investigation Units.

Associations & Activities

  • Trucking Insurance Defense Association
  • CPCU Society
  • AADC-YLD Board of Directors, 2008-2010
  • Mended Little Hearts Pediatric Heart Charity, 2012-2015

Awards & Recognition

  • Martindale-Hubbell AV Rating
  • The Best Lawyers in America, 2019 – Present,  Insurance Law
  • Arizona’s Finest Lawyer
  • Southwest Super Lawyers
  • Southwest Super Lawyers Rising Star
  • Arizona Top Lawyers 2016, Phoenix, Magazine


  • Arizona State University (B.A., Economics, summa cum laude, 2002; J.D., cum laude, 2005)
  • Arizona State Law Journal
  • Arizona State Bar Tax Scholarship. 2005
  • William H. Pedrick Scholar

News & Publications

2021 The Best Lawyers in America

The Cavanagh Law Firm is pleased to announce that 14 of the Firm’s attorneys have been recognized in the 27th Edition of The Best Lawyers in America.  We are also deeply proud to announce that The Best Lawyers in America also named Phil C. Gerard the Family Law...

Firm Attorneys Recognized As America’s Most Honored Lawyers

America's Most Honored Lawyer Recognition The Cavanagh Law Firm is proud to recognize that many of our attorneys have recently received professional honors as America's Most Honored Lawyers by American Registry. Thirteen of the Firm’s attorneys have been awarded the...

Cavanagh Law Firm Receives Top-notch 2019 Awards with First-Rate Attorneys

The Cavanagh Law Firm is an outstanding and distinguished law firm in Arizona that covers a variety of practices. The Firm’s exceptional lawyers have an impressive history litigating complex and sophisticated cases.  The firm has been recognized by U.S. News - Best...

15 Attorneys Named as 2017 Super Lawyers and Rising Stars

Southwest Super Lawyers selected 12 senior attorneys for its 2017 honor. Named for this honor are Helen R. Davis, William M. Demlong, Philip C. Gerard, Connie T. Gould, Christina S. Hamilton, Ralph E. Hunsaker, Timothy R. Hyland, Steven Plitt, Elliot H. Wernick, Richard J. Woods and Jerry D. Worsham II. Steven J. Gross, Jordan R. Plitt and John K. Wittwer were named as up-and-coming, Rising Stars.

The Cavanagh Law Firm is Home to 23 Super Lawyers (2015 list)

Each year, no more than five percent of the lawyers in the state are selected by the research team at Super Lawyers to receive this honor.